Hank Aaron dies, aged 86

Non-Tulane Sports Discussion
Anything that doesn't belong on the main YOGWF Sports forums e.g. Saints, Hornets, BC$, High School, etc.
long green
Cornerstone

Hank Aaron dies, aged 86

Post by long green »

https://www.cbs46.com/news/hall-of-fame ... ssion=true

I remember watching him break the record in '74. Maybe the first baseball game I ever watched.
And may our enemies, if they exist, be unconscious of our purpose. - From The Lady Vanishes
TUPF
Emerald Circle

Re: Hank Aaron dies, aged 86

Post by TUPF »

Oh no! Hammering' Hank. He broke Babe Ruth's record without the juice a few weeks before I graduated from high school.
Fan since 1974 living in Phelps seeing the upper bowl of Tulane Stadium
PeteRasche
Cornerstone

Post by PeteRasche »

As a Reds fan (and MLB fan) growing up I knew that he held the home run record and I'd seen the footage of the record-breaking homer (with the random fan joining him on the basepaths) but it wasn't until a lot older that I found out he tied the record on Opening Day in my hometown stadium with the voice of baseball of my youth, Marty Brennaman, calling the shot. I was 2.5 years old when he did it. I'd sat in the stands right above where that homer landed for many a game as a kid before I even knew it (there was no marker on the wall where it went over but I believe I heard there was a marker behind the wall in the "backstage" area where it landed).

RIP, Hammerin' Hank.
gerryb323
Regent's Circle

Post by gerryb323 »

And he just got the Moderna vaccine 2 weeks ago to show it was safe. Not good optics anyway!

Hank's (auto?)biography was the first baseball book I read and really got me into baseball fandom. Great player and great man.
Wandering around somewhere in a matchup zone
waverider
Cornerstone

Post by waverider »